Here's a video overview on how notifications work:
When are notifications sent?
Notifications are sent to everyone who is assigned to a request (team members and clients).
In addition, portal admins receive billing and new client notifications.
How to edit notification settings:
As portal admin, you can edit notifications for you, your team, and clients, by going to Settings > Notifications.
Clients and team members can also edit their personal notification preferences by going to Settings